We Have a Garden

Natasha helped me plant tomatoes a few weeks ago and she’s been helping water them. We (and I really mean, we,) also planted green beans, peppers, carrots, parsnips, turnips, spaghetti squash, brussel sprouts, sweet potatoes, and ornamental gourds. It was the latest I’ve ever put in a garden, but when one lives in Panama till April, and doesn’t have one’s own home till Memorial Day, putting in a garden late is better than never! I heard the latest planting date is June 17th anyway. I was digging up flower beds, toting tubs of manure around and planting hostas even before I set my sewing machine up! I still might add some pumpkins if I find space. I have seeds from last year (or the year before?!) that I’m planning to put in water to see if they’ll even sprout, before putting them in the ground.

007

It’s been so nice to have some space of my own to play around in the soil some. You might notice that our grass still had hints of green in it when these pictures were taken. This was back around the 9th, and it’s gone now. Like my Mom said, our parched yards look like the underneath side of carpet.

008

More of life here, coming soon!

Leave a Reply

