Sommerhausen

{September 23, 2013}

I’m still catching up on our trip to Germany from this past fall. I’m ever so anxious to get caught up, since I have new adventures to share! Alas, I haven’t mastered the art of timely blogging. My apologies.

However, I do have the next segment of pictures from another walking outing we had back in September. Doris kindly let us borrow the buggy from her bicycle, and we pushed Natasha on the bike path along the Main River to the village down the road, called Sommerhausen. It’s 2 miles from Eibelstadt, and takes about 40 minutes to walk.

This is the entrance to the town. Is it not impressive? I mean, none of the towns I’ve ever lived near have a stone gateway with hinged chevron shutters!

15-041

13-035

 

We made our way back little streets and came upon a playground.

01-001

 

02-003

04-007

03-005

 

06-011

 

Before starting out to see more of the town, we enjoyed our picnic lunch which consisted of brats, wrapped in napkins, and carrot sticks, if I remember correctly!

 

 

05-009

 

07-017

 

Here’s our attempt to recreate the “walking” symbol:

09-022

 

08-024

 

12-034

11-032

10-030

14-040

 

Notice the riverboat cruise ship!

 

 

16-050

18-052

17-045

 

We’re really coming closer to the end of our month stay in Germany, so I’m hoping to finish this series up soon! Daniel and I took a trip in February that I want to share all about too! But, first things first.

Leave a Reply

