Janel Goes Trekking Alone

There is this ridge behind our house that I gaze up at every single day, numerous times a day. Daniel took off one afternoon to hike it, and he asked me if I would be a smidge upset that we didn’t do it together, and I told him, “No, go ahead.” I said that because I didn’t want to keep him from exploring and being able to get out of the house on his own. But deep down, I was in fact a little disappointed. I quick got over it since I then had the idea that I  would hike it alone too. That, coupled with the fact that when he returned he said it was not a 4-year old type of path and just the idea of trying to conjole Natasha up a steep hillside quickly dispersed any romantic hiking thoughts of discovering it together as a family.

08-019

So the other morning, I took off on my own with the camera, and hiked up the Grampians Reserve.

23-086

25-094

27-100

You can basically overlook the entire city of Nelson and the surrounding areas. In the bottom left hand corner, I added a note to this picture showing where our house is.

28-105

 

These gates are quite common, and I love them. They seem so English and quaint.

29-107

 

I didn’t see any sheep, but since I grew up with sheep, I know how true the “worrying” part of this sign is.

31-112

 

A special treat greeted me at the end of my trek: a calla lily plant. They are actually seen quite often in flower beds along the sidewalks, but this one was nice to photograph without appearing touristy in someone’s front yard. :)

32-116

Leave a Reply

