California

It has been way too long since I’ve done a proper update. But I’m here to announce, this is the completion of our New Zealand trip last year, and I’m finally bringing it to a close with the last stop on our journey home in early November, 2014.

We flew from Seoul, Korea to Las Angeles and from there quickly got a rental car and headed up US 1 to visit my cousins for a couple days in San Louis Obispo. We were flying the rest of the way home out of San Francisco, so it was a nice little stop along the way and we got to see the western coast of the United States for the first time. I have a funny feeling we would have been more impressed if we hadn’t just come from the western coast of New Zealand. I thought they looked very similar.

Natasha was a little leery of playing with boys, but it turned out that she rather liked her cousins, and they got along fine.
75-163

80-203

78-182

77-180

76-177

79-197

We were hardly in San Francisco, but it wasn’t to be an extensive touring time. I wanted to see a hilly street, and the bridge, and that was all. We will return another time to experience more.

83-217

84-221

85-227

(Photo credit to then-4-year old Natasha. I thought she did pretty good.)

86-232
And that, is a wrap. We flew home and happily entered a cleaner house than when we left, and a cupboard full of sweet potatoes and an overflowing platter of fresh fruit. (Thanks to Daniel’s family who knows us pretty well.)

We are now getting ready for another visit to Europe with Daniel’s two younger brothers and a friend. That makes us a party of 6, and Natasha and I will be the only girls. I didn’t grow up with brothers, but it’s a lot of fun having brother-in-laws and more guys around. I might even be slightly more excited about traveling with them than seeing the new places on our itinerary. It is such fun to share flying, public transportation, and new cultures with people who haven’t traveled much. I think it actually helps me appreciate the places we visit more because they are seeing it all with completely new eyes and it becomes new to me as well.

p.s. I did say that a review of the Asiana Airlines lounge would be the next post, but…we had a change of plans. I think I have already emphasized how much we enjoy flying business class when points allow us, and didn’t think we should rub it in anymore. ;)

{Photo editing credit:  Amos Haley}

Leave a Reply

